Barcelona snapshots

Prof. Eduard Vieta

Eduard Vieta psychiatrist Controversias Psiquiatry Barcelona
Universitat de Barcelona, Spain & Member of the Organizing Committee
Chairman Round Table 1
Date 16h, September 16, 2021


Eduard Vieta is Professor of Psychiatry at the University of Barcelona and Chair of the Department of Psychiatry and Psychology at the Hospital Clinic, where he also leads the Bipolar Disorders Program in Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain. His unit is one of the worldwide leaders in clinical care, teaching and research on bipolar disorder. Dr. Vieta is also the current Scientific Director of the Spanish Research Network on Mental Health (CIBERSAM). He has received the Aristotle award (2005), the Mogens Schou award (2007), the Strategic Research award of the Spanish Society of Biological Psychiatry (2009), the Official College of Physicians award to Professional Excellence (2011), the Colvin Price on Outstanding Achievement in Mood Disorders Research by the Brain and Behaviour Research Foundation (2012), the Clinical Neuroscience Lilly award by the International College of Neuropsychopharmacology (CINP 2014), the Simon Bolivar Award (American Psychiatric Association 2017) and the Research Price of the World Federation of Societies of Biological Psychiatry (WFSBP, 2017). He has been named twice best psychiatrist in Spain (Monitor sanitario, El Español) and Doctor Honoris Causa by the University of Valencia. He is currently the treasurer of the European College of Neuropsychopharmacology (ECNP). He has authored more than 700 original articles, 410 book chapters and 38 books. His H index is 88 and has over 30000 citations, which makes him the most cited scientist worldwide in the field of bipolar disorder over the last 8 years and one of the world’s most influential scientific minds, according to Clivariate Analytics ranking (Highly Cited). Furthermore, he is on the editorial board of many scientific journals and has served as invited professor at McLean Hospital and Harvard University and as neuroscience scientific advisor to the European Presidency.